Sales School

So I just got a job at Northwestern Mutual selling Life Insurance and I am currently going through training to sell the product and I am pretty sure I have never seen a more powerful example of the art of perfectly rehearsed language being effective in persuasion or easing the mood of an introduction.  Throughout sales school, we are learning about how to speak to people professionally, but making it sound natural.  When I first started, I saw a script that you might use for telephoning.  It uses phrases like “might I drop by?” or “he/she spoke very highly of you.”  This language encompasses every introduction both to people you know and people you don’t.  I was first confused about how that would sound to say, my roommate or someone similar.  When I tried reading the script for the first time, I fumbled through it and determined that I wouldn’t buy anything from someone who sounded like I did.  I thought it would sound awkward, but when I heard the seasoned representatives read the script, it sounded so natural and calming because it was so well-rehearsed.  I trusted them more and felt more comfortable opening my mind to the different areas of Life Insurance.  It just goes to show you that when you rehearse your speech extensively, the odds of someone being persuaded are increased substantially.  I was blown away.

5 comments so far

  1. sarahtheobald on

    It seems like you have chosen a career in Public Address then! Congratulations! I think for most upcoming graduates, we are all going to have to use our knowledge from public address to meet prospective employers, go on job interviews, and network. In a sense, in each of these interactions you are giving a persuasive speech on why you are qualified and interested in what the employer is offering. Therefore, you must convince your audience that they should believe you and accept what you bring to the table.
    I agree with you that practice will make these situations seem more natural. It’s helpful to get this experience before your career depends on it such as planning informational interviews and working with career services.

    • sarahtheobald on

      ~ Sarah Theobald

  2. sarahtheobald on

    It seems like you have chosen a career in Public Address then! Congratulations! I think for most upcoming graduates, we are all going to have to use our knowledge from public address to meet prospective employers, go on job interviews, and network. In a sense, in each of these interactions you are giving a persuasive speech on why you are qualified and interested in what the employer is offering. Therefore, you must convince your audience that they should believe you and accept what you bring to the table.
    ~ Sarah Theobald

  3. akdaniels919 on

    I think it’s really true that rehearsal helps with persuasion. There are so many ways you can say the same sentence and have it come off completely differently — often times how something is said is much more important than the words that are said. Through rehearsal, we can ensure that the speech is delivered in the way intended. However, I think there is also the possibility for too much rehearsal to hurt persuasion. If something is over-rehearsed it does not sound genuine, and particularly with something like sales, sounding genuine is crucial to being effective. So while rehearsal helps much of the awkwardness and unfamiliarity going away, one has to be careful to not sound so rehearsed that they no longer sound like they mean anything that is being said — finding that balance is the key to persuasiveness in many ways, I believe.

    -Amanda Daniels

  4. Siavash on

    For me it’s not just about rehearsal that helps my ability to persuade. Rehearsing rather than understanding the experience you are addressing is more likely to establish the speaker to be sympathetic rather than empathetic. The difference is that empathy encompasses more, engages and brings a real connection with the audience instead of a scripted speech based on the speaker trying to boost his/her own ego or sales. Thus, lift yourself from your material existence. This means that if you want to sell someone something live in their shoes and understand what life is like for them, not just today, but yesterday and tomorrow.

    -$iavash


Leave a Reply

