Why are Apple advertisements so convincing?

What’s on my Christmas list this year? An iPad of course! After seeing this commercial I knew it would be an easy task to convince my mom that I NEEDED this to be a successful student and job candidate. Then I started to ponder what makes Apple commercials so convincing? The summer before our freshman year at Denison, Apple released a series of commercials comparing Apple computers to PC’s. Of course the Apple representative was young, hip, and cool while the PC representative was old, bald, and nerdy. Now, Apple commercials continue to appeal to a wide audience. Take this iPad commercial for example, it shows the student, the businessman, the child, the musician, and the gamer that they could all use the iPad and get what they want out of it. Apple uses ethos, pathos, and logos in every advertisement. The ethos in this is that Apple is a good, successful company making a product that promises to deliver in all occasions. The pathos is the nice beat in the music in the background, as well as showing fast and cool flips of what the iPad can do. The logos is the simple words in black and white targeting every audience member. Apple has thrived on the fact that it is the innovative and “cool” company. The iPad is following the footsteps of the iPhone in its success path. This iPad commercial, as well as the others on television, aim to prove to all audience members that they need an iPad to be successful…or else.

 

Erika Berg

5 comments so far

  1. Siavash on

    I agree, I heart Apple. However, don’t you think Apples success is also because of its reliability? I am sure if PCs were as reliable they could use Ethos, Pathos, and Logos for their marketing. Thus, I agree Apple is able to sell because of its productive advertisement, but it continues to sell because of the consumer’s satisfaction with the product and service.

  2. johnsokb on

    I remember seeing an iPad television advertisement for the first time. And I also remember my first reaction as well. It went somewhat along these lines…”It does everything a computer does! What’s the big deal?” This was not only my reaction, but the reaction of my entire family matter of fact. Despite how I felt, my first reaction did not matter after a day or so because I wanted one. It wasn’t what it could do, because I felt it was simply a mocking of an apple computer and an iPhone. Well, why did I want it? Ethos. Apple has earned their credibility. Q: What computer should I get? A: Apple; Q: What kind of music player should I get? A: iTouch; Q: What kind of phone should I get? A: iPhone. If Apple has it, then its the answer to everything. I just had to have it just because its new and its Apple.

    Along with this though I ask myself, “has Apple’s credibility subsided? Because the Fans of Apple are so dependable on the reliability aspect, I feel the last incident of the iPhone flaw has reminded everyone to rethink the overrated credibility towards Apple Company.

  3. dupublicaddress on

    This is a great topic because I believe, too, that Apple does an incredible job at making us like them with ethos. All of their commercials really show us a lifestyle that would be faster, cooler, and better with Apple products. They continue their ethos even outside of their commercials and other advertising with the Apple retailer stores. The stores themselves are trendy and urban, as well as clean and bright, making their store an inviting place to come play with new technology and be a part of the Apple culture.
    However, I believe that Apple relies too much on their ethos in their commercials and they don’t really get to the pathos or logos. For example, remember the old iPod commercials that were purely silhouettes dancing around listening to the iPod. Those commercials never said anything, never told you anything about the product, but instead EVERYONE and their mother wanted to buy one. Why? Because the people dancing on the television screen looked cool and hip and like they were having fun. That commercial was pure ethos.
    But hey, who can blame Apple for capitalizing off their ethos? It works.

    ~Molly Coyne

    • carospence on

      I think Molly brings up a good point in saying that Apple doesn’t really get to the pathos and logos. I find that commercials are ineffective when they are really trying to monopolize solely on one aspect of logos, ethos, or pathos. Commercials that are just trying to make you laugh, cry, or empathize. In this particular commercial that Erika shared what Apple does instead is simply present the product and show you what it does. They also chose desirable words to describe the product. This advertisement is appealing because it is realistic and accessible. Thus, Apple as a company also garnishes ethos with every successful ad campaign and product. Apple is credible because they are constantly keeping up with the consumers growing need in an increasingly technological society but consistently proves with each advertisement that they know how to appeal to people even through simplicity.

      Caroline Spence

  4. Siavash on

    I agree, I heart Apple. However, don’t you think Apples success is also because of its reliability? I am sure if PCs were as reliable they could use Ethos, Pathos, and Logos for their marketing. Thus, I agree Apple is able to sell because of its productive advertisement, but it continues to sell because of the consumer’s satisfaction with the product and service.

    -$iavash


Leave a Reply

